Politiken Cup

Rating groups




Rilton Cup
Lars Grahn blog
NetAvisen (norsk)


Konventum (Lo-skolen)
 Gl. Hellebækvej 70 
3000 Helsingør

Single room with breakfast 590 kr.
Single room with all meals 890 kr.
Double room with breakfast each person 355 kr.
Double Room with all meals each person 655 kr.
The college is beautifully situated in a park near sea and forest

Order your room here
Notice payment with foreign credit cards on Lo-skolen cost an extra fee

Read more

Online payment

Live games

Live 1-11

Live 12-17

Replay previous rounds

Bent Larsen 75 year

Russias second best player, Peter Svidler, and Denmarks number one
, Peter Heine Nielsen, will play 6 games of rapid chess followed by 10 blitz games.
Read more | Results | Video

Videos and Photos

By: Thomas LarsenUpdated: 14-08-2010 10:45
We have made several videos from Politiken Cup 2010: The video page.

And of course we have also taken many pictures: The photo page.


News articles about Politiken Cup 2010

By: Thomas LarsenUpdated: 11-08-2010 12:46
News articles about Politiken Cup 2010:

Chessvibes: "Politiken Cup: Eljanov wins, Heine Nielsen & Svidler celebrate Larsen 75"

ChessBase: "Politiken Cup 2010: Eljanov reels it in"

Chess.com: "Pavel Eljanov Wins Politiken Cup"

The Week in Chess: "Politiken Cup 2010"

Lars Grahn Blog: "Inte bara schack" (in swedish).

Peter Dürrfeld Blog: Chess Menu

Quality Chess Best Game Prizes to Postny and Birk Petersen

Updated: 09-08-2010 15:50


Quality Chess Best Game Prize 2010: Ten books from Quality Chess.
Evgeny Postny, Israel – Sabino Brunello, Italy, Round 7

1. d4 Nf6 2. c4 e6 3. Nf3 b6 4. g3 Bb7 5. Bg2 Be7 6. Nc3 O-O 7. O-O Ne4 8. Bd2 Bf6 9. Qc2 Nxd2 10. Qxd2 d6 11. e4 Nd7 12. Rfe1 g6 13. Rad1 Bg7 14. h4 h5 15. Ng5 Qe7 16. f4 f6 17. e5 fxg5 18. Bxb7 gxf4 19. exd6 cxd6 20. Rxe6 Qd8 21. Bxa8 Qxa8 22. Nd5 fxg3 23. Qg5




Quality Chess Best Game Prize 2010 (for players with maximum of ELO-2200): Ten books from Quality Chess.
Peter Birk Petersen, Denmark – Henrik Mortensen, Denmark, Round 9

1. e4 c5 2. Nf3 e6 3. d4 Qc7 4. Nc3 a6 5. d5 e5 6. a4 d6 7. Nd2 g6 8. Nc4 Bg7 9. Bd3 Nh6 10. a5 Nd7 11. Na4 f6 12. h4 Nf7 13. Qf3 Nf8 14. Nab6 Rb8 15. Nxc8 Rxc8 16. Ra3 Nd7 17. Rb3 Rd8 18. h5 g5 19. h6 Bxh6


20. Rxh6 Nxh6 21. Rxb7 Qxb7 22. Nxd6+ Ke7 23. Nxb7 Rb8 24. Bxa6 1-0


Quality Chess publish a number of chessbooks. Please look for more and visit www.qualitychess.co.uk


See You next year at Lo-skolen in Elsinore

Updated: 08-08-2010 16:00
Politiken Cup is played next year from Saturday 30th of July to Sunday 7th of August. As usual the tournament will be played at the Lo-skolen in Elsinore. We look forward to seeing you again.

Copenhagen Chess Festival 2012 og 2013 at Lo-Skolen

Updated: 08-08-2010 15:58
Copenhagen Chess Union has concluded an agreement on the Copenhagen Chess Festival also in 2012 (28th of July to 5th of August) and in 2013 (27th of July to 4th of August) will be played at Lo-Skolen in Elsinore.

Quality Chess Best Game Prizes. Decision tomorrow

Updated: 08-08-2010 15:48
The two Best Game Prizes from Quality Chess decision on this webiste Monday 9th of August.

Two new IM

Updated: 08-08-2010 13:43
FM Jasmin Bejtovic, Bosnia (left) and FM Krzysztof Bulski, Poland (right), both optained their third and final IM-norm.

Pavel Eljanov winner of Politiken Cup 2010

Updated: 08-08-2010 13:21
World star Pavel Eljanov, Ukraine, won the Politiken Cup 2010 with 8½ point out of ten games. In the final round he beat GM Surya Ganguly (no. 2 seed). Eljanov"s ELO-performance and with 2761 he is currently (unofficial) no. 6 in the world!

In consideration for Best Game Prize (under ELO 2200)

Updated: 08-08-2010 11:51
4th round: Michael Agermose Jensen – Karsten Larsen
5th round: Conny Holst – Carsten Schmitt

8th round: Simon Barane – Rune Egede Andersen

9th round: Christoffer Ellegaard Christensen – Carsten Schmitt

9th round: Peter Birk Petersen – Henrik Mortensen

10th round: Steen Petersen – Frederik Beer Jacobsen
10th round: Carsten Schmitt – Jan Kaas Pedersen

10th round: Klaus Christensen - Dara Akdag


IM-norm to Carlstedt and two IM-norm chances

Updated: 07-08-2010 22:37

IM-norm for ten games – even if he looses 10th round:

Jonathan Carlstedt, Germany.


FM Krzysztof Bulski, Poland, need a draw against GM Jacob Aagaard, Denmark, for an IM-norm ten games.
FM Jasmin Bejtovic, Sweden, need a draw against GM Tiger Hillarp-Persson, Sweden, for his third and final IM-norm.




Bent Larsen
75 years

GM Peter Svidler and GM Peter Heine celebrates Danish chess player Bent Larsen.

Celebration of
GM Bent Larsen


   Politiken Cup
Svidler / Heine
   Blitz 1. b3
   Blitz finals

DHTML Menu By Milonic JavaScript